Three Tips to Save You From Drowning in College.

“I feel like I am drowning.” I said, texting my boyfriend, “And I am struggling to stay above water.” This past semester, more than ever, the weight of college really hit me. With only four semesters left, I started to fall under the choppy water of homework assignments, tests, and projects all at once. Now I know I am preaching to the choir when I talk about this, but I thought I could share three of my most helpful ways to stay above water in college.

Use Your Planner

Most of my freshman and sophomore year of college I relied on my memory to keep me on task. Do not do this! Trust me, you can have the best memory, and still be able to forget to do one homework assignment. There are some great planner apps out there that are free and easy to use. If you are like me though, you might enjoy just having a hands-on book to write your things to do in. It doesn’t need to be pretty (trust me, mine is a mess of highlighted things and torn pages) it just should work for you. Every college bookstore sells their best version of a planner for under $10.

Talk to Your Teachers

You have probably heard this a lot, but your professors are there to help you. It might not seem like it at the beginning of the semester, (“Read the syllabus!”) but if you are truly having problems on an assignment, schedule a time to talk to them during their office hours, that is what they are here for.

Take Time for Yourself

Now, I don’t see this a lot when talking about tips for college students, but it is one of my favorite. Sometimes when doing homework, you just hit a block where you can’t move on any further. Trust me, this happens to everyone. Try and take a 15- 20 minute break. Eat a snack, or watch an episode of your favorite series. I don’t recommend Netflix however, because I once spent an entire night just re-watching episodes of “The Office.” Trust me, Netflix is like the devil when it comes to studying, stay away.

I really hope that these tips were able to help you if you feel like you are drowning. Leave a comment down below about one of your favorite study tips. Thank you for reading and have a great day!


Planner Apps: For IOs https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/planner-pro-daily-calendar/id571588936?mt=

For Android

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=jp.co.johospace.jorte&hl=en

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

